Review: Kissing the Crisis: Field Notes on Foul-Mouthed Babies, Disenchanted Women, and Careening Into Middle Age

Kissing the Crisis: Field Notes on Foul-Mouthed Babies, Disenchanted Women, and Careening Into Middle Age
Kissing the Crisis: Field Notes on Foul-Mouthed Babies, Disenchanted Women, and Careening Into Middle Age by Kara Martinez Bachman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A bit memoir, a bit cautionary tale, with lots of humor and a dash of glitter compose “Kissing the Crisis” by Kara Martinez Bachman. Stories range from shooting her first gun to Mardi Gras antics. By far my favorite story was about how she missed out on a “date” with Brad Pitt. The things she had to say about the men we have at home really spoke to me about how I feel about my own husband. Not all the stories found their audience in me though, and I did find my attention waning some but then I’d move on to the next one and be drawn right back in. A very enjoyable, hilarious tale in the vein of Jen Lancaster, Jenny Lawson, and David Sedaris. If you like any of those authors, I’d recommend this book.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *